Sound Anthology (The Sonic Clock)

Sound Anthology (The Sonic Clock) is an electroacoustic sound work centered on the relationship between light and time, mediated by music. The sound work constitutes of twelve sound-paintings related to each of the 12hours of the daytime chronological cycle.

The interaction of the sound diffusion with the daily light is essential to the compositional hourly music features: according to the daylight intensity, a parallel processing occurs to the realtime sound processing.

Lt's go in detail over the music compostion.

For each San Petronio Cathedral's chime there's a sound sequence that "strikes",

Each sound sequence is articulated as a 'musical variation' of a complete composition that only "strikes" at midday and midnight.
People walking by Piazza Maggiore at a given time of the day, will be listening to a sound fragment of the overal composition, re-articulated by the interactive software based on a light-driven logic.
Each piece had a total duration corresponding to the time of the day, a duration that spans from 1 minute at 1pm up to twelve minutes at 12pm - with the exposure of the full compositional cycle
The sound diffusion was implemented by pre-existing sound emitters which are normally used for public communication, with the evident goal of reshaping a conventional tool to become an symbolic medium.

Additional Info

  • location: Bologna IT
  • client: Comune di Bologna, Art City 2013 and Mambo
  • sound design: Maurizio Nannucci & Simone Conforti
  • sound space design: Maurizio Nannucci & Simone Conforti

Music & Soundscapes Works

June 26th/October 18th 2015Interactive Sound…

June 15, 2015

May 22nd/June 1st 2014 -…

May 25, 2014

October 15, 2013

October 14, 2013

September 17, 2013

The video installation "Morphismes" by…

November 27, 2014

November 12, 2013